Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Contractor Campus

Books & Classes for your Contractor's License

Oregon Specialized Finals Inspector (SFI) License

The Specialized Finals Inspector (SFI) License allows you to do the following work:

  • Final inspections of:
    • Residential structural constructions
    • Mechanical
    • Plumbing
    • One-and-two family dwellings under the Oregon Residential Specialty Code
    • Electrical systems previously inspected and approved

The Specialized Finals Inspector (SFI) License DOES NOT allow you to do the following work:

  • Electrical systems of more than 400 amps
  • Emergency and stand-by power generation equipment
  • Solar photovoltaic installations
  • Swimming pools

How to Get the Specialized Finals Inspector (SFI) License in Oregon?

  1. Take and pass the Specialized Finals Inspector course
  2. Meet the prerequisites for the training program:
    • Hold a minimum of one certification in Oregon to perform either residential or commercial mechanical, structural, electrical, or plumbing inspections
    • Valid Oregon Inspector Certification (OIC)
    • Have experience as an inspector and performed inspections of the Oregon Structural or Residential Specialty Codes, Oregon Mechanical Specialty Code, Oregon Electrical Specialty Code, or Oregon Plumbing Specialty Code for a minimum of one year prior to the application date

Currently, the Building Codes Division is not offering a Specialized Finals Inspector course.
For more information on the application process, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at (503) 373-7974.