How to get an Alaska Contractor's License?
Obtaining a contractor's license in Alaska gets you bigger and higher-paying jobs, it also adds credibility, it is also the law. Working without a license in Alaska without a license count as a class b misdemeanor. You risk jail time and a large fine. Below the article will explain the process of obtaining your license.
In the State of Alaska, it only identifies a few contractors
- General Contractor
- Handyman Contractors
- Mechanical Contractors
- Specialty Contractors
- Residential Contractors
You can find all the form to fill out at Alaska official contractor licensing site each application has specific information you need to submit with your application and any fees you may have to pay along with it.
Along with your application, you will be needing the following
- Alaska Business License
- A registered tax identification number
- Proof of general liability insurance:
- $20,000 for property damage
- $50,000 for injury or death to one person
- $100,000 for injury or death to more thsn one person
- proof of workers comensation license
- A surety bond
- $25,000 general contractor
- $20,000 General Contractor with residential endorsement
- $10,000 specialty or mechanical contractor
- $5,000 general contractor handyman (per project)
- A nonrefunable application fee for $100 plus a license fee for $250 made out to "state of alaska"
Apply to take the exam
if you are applying for a general contractor with residential contractor endorsement license you wpold need to sign up with a testing company PSI AK Residential Contractor Endorsment Exam you are also able to look at the PSI Exam Dates and sign up online for the date that convenience you the most
Sumbit your Application
Once you have everything set for your applications, you will mail them over to
- Contractor Licensing Section State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: 907-465-2550 Email: