Frequently Asked Questions
Virginia contractors ask common questions regarding the process, application, and requirements. The questions listed were created by the Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.
What is the process of becoming a Contractor in Virginia?
If you are interested in becoming a Contractor, you should follow the instructions carefully, making sure you fulfill the requirements and pay the corresponding fee. You can find more information about it here.
Is there a pre-license requirement in Virginia?
Yes, there is. In order to become licensed as a Contractor (Class A, Class B, or Class C), applicants must complete eight hours of pre-license education. For Class A and Class B applicants, the pre-license education must be completed by a member of responsible management or the designated employee. For Class C applicants, a member of responsible management must complete the pre-license education. Pre-license education is required for all new contractor licenses and is a separate requirement from the Class A and Class B examinations. The pre-license education course is a basic business course that covers relevant regulations, statutes, and requirements that are necessary for every business owner. The course is not specific to any particular classification or specialty. A Board-approved advanced contractor class will also meet the requirements for the pre-license education course.
How do I contact the board?
If you have a question regarding licensing issues, renewal, application status, etc., please contact the Licensing Section at 804-367-8511. If you have a question regarding continuing education providers, how to become a provider, or other questions relating to education, please contact the Education Section at 804-367-2224. The Board members do not work in the Board office. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not here on a daily basis. Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly.
I am licensed in Virginia, and applying for licensure in another state. The other state is requesting verification of my Virginia license. What do I need to do?
I need to renew my license, but I haven't received my renewal form. What do I need to do?
No earlier than 60 days prior to your license expiration, send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, and include your license number on your check. Mail this information to: Board for Contractors Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400Richmond, VA 23233 You CANNOT continue to practice in Virginia after your license has expired.
My renewal payment was one day late and I have always paid on time. Can you waive the late fee?
No. The Board's regulations provide 30 days after the expiration date in which a license may be renewed without penalty (therefore, your payment is 31 days late). Staff cannot waive the fee. Board regulations state that if the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the Board, are not complete within 30 days of the expiration date, a reinstatement fee is required.
Once your license expires, you no longer have a license to engage in contracting. The 30-day period is not a license extension but only an additional 30 days to complete your renewal and submit payment without having to pay the reinstatement fee.
I did not renew on time because I didn't receive my renewal card. Do I still have to pay a late fee or reinstate my license?
Yes. Board regulations state that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.
Does the Board office use the date of receipt or the postmark date to determine whether an application or renewal was received on time?
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. If the renewal fee is received after the due date, you will be required to pay the reinstatement fee. If the reinstatement fee is received after the due date, you will be required to reapply for licensure, meeting all current requirements.
My address and/or name has changed. What do I need to do to notify the Board?
Many Boards allow you to update your ADDRESS using Online Services, so login to your personal profile to see if this is an option for your license type. The alternative is to complete, print, sign, and submit an Address Change Form to the Board office by mail. Unless updated online, all Address Change Forms must be received by the Board in writing. When providing a post office box as the mailing address, it must be accompanied by the physical address. To report a NAME CHANGE: complete, print, sign, and submit a Name Change Form to the Board office. All name changes must be received by the Board in writing. Individual name change requests must be accompanied by a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, or other official documentation that verifies the name change.
How do I go about filing a complaint against a contractor?
Contact the Regulatory Programs and Compliance Section.
What if I have a criminal conviction?
It doesn’t necessarily prevent you from obtaining a license. There are no “barrier crimes” that are an absolute prohibition to licensure. State law requires DPOR regulatory boards to evaluate applicants with past convictions on a case-by-case basis to determine whether their criminal history is related to the profession. Boards must take into account the nine factors outlined in § 54.1-204.B of the Code of Virginia. Only a full Board, voting in public session at a regular meeting, can make the decision to deny an application for licensure. If you have a criminal conviction, you must submit the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, along with a state police criminal history for every state where you have convictions, or a national criminal history, or a certified copy of the Final Order, decree, or case decision by a court with lawful authority to issue such Order, decree, or decision. Once DPOR receives this information, the Board may request additional documents from you pertaining to the conviction, and you may be required to attend an Informal Fact-Finding conference.
How do I sign up for remedial education?
If you have been ordered to complete remedial education, you must attend a full-day eight-hour class in person at DPOR. These classes are free and you can sign up using the Registration Form.
- Written by Rojas L.