Article Index

Public Works Information

The Idaho Public Works Statutes and Rules, as well as the Division of Building Safety Contractor's Business and Law Reference Manual, provide study details for Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC, or C. You must complete the License Examination Information form and submit it with your application if you are applying for a Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC, or C license. Your application will be approved after it has been accepted. The Division of Building Safety will send you an email to schedule your test. Class D research details is still included with the applications that are mailed out. The Idaho Public Works Statutes and Rules make up this section. If you're applying for a Class D license, you'll need to complete and submit the Class D test that comes with the application.

General Testing Information

This sheet is to provide you with information on how to schedule and take your license exam.

Prior to scheduling a test, you must first contact the Division of Building Safety and complete an application and pay fees. You can access an application online at: https://dbs.idaho.gov/forms-applications/

                • All applications must be submitted to the:
                  • Division of Building Safety
                  • Public Works Contractor Licensing
                  • 1090 E Watertower Street, Ste 150
                  • Meridian, ID 83642

More information can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions

How to apply for Manufactured Housing (RETAILER OR INSTALLER) License

The following information is how to apply for the Examination as a Manufactured Housing (RETAILER OR INSTALLER)

Once you have been approved for an exam, you will have six (6) months to schedule and take the exam. You will need to contact the Division of Building Safety at least two (2) days prior to the date you would like to test. Exams are given for Retailer and Installer. Once you have been approved, you will receive a letter that gives you a breakdown of the exam you are approved to take.

The Division of Building Safety requires a passing score of at least 70% (percent) on the appropriate examination prior to issuance of an original license as a retailer or installer. The cost of the exam is $75.00. The person taking the examination must be the person who will assume responsibility on behalf of the company and will be responsible for ensuring that the company complies with all applicable statutes. Applicants must be 18 years or older.

      • Installer: Installs a manufactured home or mobile home on-site where it is to be occupied
      • Retailer: Sells or exchanges new, used, resale, or brokered manufactured or mobile homes
      • Additional requirements for licensure retailer:
        • Retailers of new manufactured homes must provide proof of being an authorized franchise dealer for the make home they intend to sell.
        • Retailers: An original bond in the amount of $40,000.00.
        • Applicants may have to provide proof that they have a principle place of business.
        • Please provide a copy of Secretary of State filing if a business entity.
      • Additional requirements for licensure as an installer:
        • Applicants are required to complete an online course before examination. For information on our course, please call 1-800-955-3044.
        • Applicants may have to provide proof that they have a principle place of business.
        • An original bond in the amount of $5,000.00.
        • Please provide a copy of Secretary of State filing if a business entity.

PUBLIC RECORDS NOTICE – Business information such as your company address and phone number is regarded as public information according to the Idaho Public Records Act. Your business address and phone number may be provided to a third party upon written request.

How to apply for Modular Building License

The following information is how to apply for the Modular Building License