If I have a license in another state, can I come to Florida to build a single project?
You can get a limited, non-renewable registration for a single project, the registration is valid for one year. You must appear before the Construction Industry Licensing Board for approval and must be able to demonstrate that the proposed project requires special skills that cannot be obtained with a Florida license. Please note that the limited non-renewable registration application requirements are strictly interpreted and are rarely approved by the Construction Industry Licensing Board.
Reciprocity agreements allow contractors licensed in certain states to obtain a license in another state without having to take the state trade exam. Sometimes business and the law are also waived. However, most of the time it is not.
Penalties for Unlicensed Construction work in Florida
A first offense is considered a first-degree misdemeanor that provides up to one year in jail or probation. Working more in the state of Florida without a license or in an emergency situation, the state considers that as a third-degree felony to have a 5-year jail sentence or probation, you would also have to pay fines that can reach up to $ 10,000.
- Written by S. Alfonzo