Article Index

Contact Information

State Of Alaska

  • Department of Commerce, Community,and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
    Contractor Licensing Section
    333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, Alaska 99801
    Website: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/
    If your last name begins with A-K, please contact 907-465-8444
    If your last name begins with L-Z, please contact 907-465-5372
    Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 907-465-2550
  • Construction Contractors Program
    PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
    Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974
    Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

How to Apply for your Exam

Candidates must submit the application fee, license application and supporting documentation which can be found online at: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/

Upon approval from the department, you will be sent an Examination Eligibility Letter, along with instructions for registering and scheduling the examination.

All eligibilities are valid for 1 year from the date on the eligibility letter. If you do not pass the examination within the 1-year period, you must reapply with the state.

You may take the examination an unlimited number of times during the 1-year period.

Register for your examination

Complete the registration form online, at www.psiexams.com, and submit it to PSI via the Internet or you may mail, fax, or call PSI.

Take your examination

  • Must bring two forms of identification, which bear your signature. One of these must also have your photograph.(Your name as shown on the application form must exactly match the name on the photo I.D. used when checking in at the examination site.)
  • Arrive 30 minutes prior to appointment.

Applying for your License

  1. Application:
    A completed, signed and notarized application.
  2. SURETY BOND:
    $25,000: General Contractor
    $20,000: General Contractor with Residential Endorsement (exclusively performing residential work and not bidding on any commercial construction)
    $10,000: Specialty or Mechanical Contractor
    $5,000: General Contractor Handyman (per project)
  3. LIABILITY INSURANCE:
    A certificate of insurance for public liability and property damage insurance (not less than $20,000 for property damage, $50,000 for injury or death to one person, $100,000 for injury or death to more than one person). Either a certificate of insurance issued by an insurance agency or the Certificate of Insurance Coverage (form 08-4027c) is acceptable.
  4. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION:
    Evidence of workers’ compensation insurance is required under AS 23.30 for registration as a construction contractor. The insurance must be provided by a private insurance carrier registered to do business in the State of Alaska and the policy must be specifically written to pay benefits as provided by Alaska law. According to AS 23.30.025, an “all states endorsement” is not acceptable. Your company may be ‘exempt’ from carrying workers’ compensation insurance if you do not have employees, and your business type falls under a qualifying category.

Complete the registration form online and submit it to PSI via the Internet or you may mail, fax, or call PSI.

Schedule your examination

  • Must bring two forms of identification, which bear your signature. One of these must also have your photograph.
  • Your name as shown on the application form must exactly match the name on the photo I.D. used when checking in at the examination site.
  • Arrive 30 minutes prior to appointment.

Reciprocity

The State of Alaska has no existing Reciprocation.

PSI testing

  • PSI licensure:certification
    3210 E Tropicana
    Las Vegas, NV 89121
    (800) 733-9267
    Fax (702) 932-2666

More information can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions